Petrol Pumps Will Not Be Opened On Sundays After May 10th

Petrol pumps to remain shut on every Sunday from May 10

New Delhi
: The petrol pump owners on Sunday said that they would observe ‘weekly off’ every Sunday from May 10, if the government does not hike dealer’s commission. The decision was taken in the meeting of Consortium of Indian Petroleum Dealers (CPID), which was attended by representatives from various states.

The dealers also announced that the petrol pumps will remain open only for eight hours in a day across the country after May 10.Meanwhile, they also that they will observe ‘N0 Purchase Day’ on May 10.

Petrol pump owners across the country have threatened to observe Sunday as a weekly holiday from May 10 if the government continues to ignore their demands for hiked commissions. If they carry out their threat, vehicle owners would be unable to refuel on Sundays.

Petrol pump owners had withdrawn a strike in January after state-run oil firms assured them higher dealer commission. "We had withdrawn the strike threat in January after oil marketing companies assured to revise dealer commission rates. But nothing happened in four months," a report in the Times of India quoted Ravi Shinde of the Petrol Dealers' Association as saying.

The threat to observe remain shut on Sunday comes as Public sector oil companies like Indian Oil, Bharat Petroleum and Hindustan Petroleum are mulling reviewing fuel prices daily rather than fortnightly to align them better with international prices.
A daily price change - called dynamic fuel pricing - means that companies will not wait for a fortnight to adjust the price of petrol and diesel in tandem with crude price, but will be able to change the price daily based on global crude prices.

You May Also Like